Chickpea-Ricotta Gnocchi

You’re probably wondering why there is no photo accompanying this post.  Well, let’s just say that these gnocchi are not particularly attractive.  Nor are they tasty.  Frankly, this is a terrible recipe and it’s not that I made it wrong.  I don’t even know how I let myself get convinced that this would taste good.  There’s absolutely nothing redeeming about mushed up boiled chickpeas and not even ricotta can salvage it.  But I’m getting ahead of myself…

Ingredients I Used

3 cups rinsed and dried chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans), I used canned this time

1/2 cup ricotta (mine was homemade, more on that later)

about 1/2 cup flour

1/2 tsp freshly ground nutmeg

freshly ground black pepper

How I Made It

Set a large pot of water to boil.  Pulsed the chickpeas in the food processor until they resembled crumbs.  Stirred in the cheese and nutmeg.  Added half the flour and kneaded.  That wasn’t enough so I added a little bit more until the dough started to hold together.  Rolled dough into a rop about 1/2 inch thick (between my hands, not on the board) and cut into 1-inch lengths.  Added the gnocchi to boiling water, half at time.  Once they floated, counted to 20.  Removed.  Tossed with some pesto.  Tasted.  Threw into the trash.

Making It Vegan

Umm… don’t make it.  Seriously.  It’s a waste of good ingredients.  That’s half a nutmeg I’ll never get back.  It looked like…  dry dog food at best, what comes out the business end of a dog at worst.  It tasted like your finest wet cardboard.  OK, maybe I don’t like it but you will.  But I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

