Veggie Stock and then Risotto!

veggiesFall has finally come to New York!  It’s rainy, it’s cold but frankly, I couldn’t be happier.  Fall means new school year, sweaters and most importantly, comfort food.  With that in mind, I set out to make some delicious risotto.  Usually, I’ll just buy veggie stock to use, but since I’ve been a lazy bum, I decided that I needed to make some more recipes from Mark’s book and so I opted to make veggie stock.

Mark has a bunch of recipes for veggie stock in his book, depending on how much time you have.  I picked the second quickest:

One-Hour Vegetable Stock (p. 101)

Ingredients I Used (I doubled Mark’s recipe to have some leftover to freeze)

4 Tbsp EVOO (if you don’t know what this means, go watch some Rachel Ray)

4 heirloom carrots, sliced about 1/2 inch thick

2 red onions, quartered, unpeeled

2 potatoes, sliced

bunch of garlic cloves, whole

1 giant portobello mushroom, chopped up

a whole bunch of parsley, including the stems

4 Tbsp soy sauce

salt and black pepper (yes, you’ll still need some despite putting in a ton of soy sauce)

How I Made It

I put the oil in the stock pot to heat up, then dumped in the veggies.  They sauteed WITHOUT STIRRING for about 5 minutes and then I stirred them and let them saute a bit longer until they were nicely browned.  I don’t know why Mark is so adamant about no stirring.  You could, like, stir them occasionally and still get the same deal.  Add the parsley, 12 cups of water, soy sauce and pepper.  Bring to a boil, simmer for 30 minutes and voila!  I used a fat separator to strain out the vegetables and then I had stock you see in the picture below.

stock

Simple Risotto (p. 517):

Now that I had my stock, it was time to make risotto.

Ingredients I Used

butter

EVOO

1 onion, finely chopped

1.5 cups Arborio rice

1/2 cup riesling

about 5 cups stock (but have up to 6 cups on hand just in case)

Parmesan

How I Made It

risotto

Lots of stirring!  First I put my newly made stock in a smaller pan on low heat so that it would stay hot.  Then, I melted a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of EVOO together in a deep, wide skillet over medium heat.  Once it was melted, I added the onion and cooked it for 5 minutes.  I added the rice and stirred to coat it in the oil-butter-onion mixture.  Make a note of when you add the rice.  You’ll want to start tasting the risotto for doneness 20 minutes from now. The rice cooked for 3 minutes and became translucent and shiny.  Then I added the wine and it bubbled away almost instantly.  So I started adding hot stock one ladle at a time.  My ladle is exactly 4 ounces so I was adding it half a cup at a time.  I would stir when I would add it and then 2 minutes later, usually right before adding another ladleful.  Keep doing this and stirring until minute 20 and taste your rice.  It should be al dente.  It won’t necessarily be at minute 20 so you may need to keep adding stock and tasting.  Once you’re satisfied that the rice is done, stir in another 2 tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan.  I also stirred in some frozen broccoli (trying to clear out my freezer) and crumbled herbed goat chevre on top.  It was delicious!

done


Leave a Reply

