Potato and Leek Soup

IMG_0763

I had some leftover veggie stock and I was just itching to make something with it.  So I decided to try my hand at potato and leek soup.  I’ve tried this classic French dish mostly as vichyssoise, that is chilled and with tons of dairy dumped in.  But I was sure that there was no need for that so I decided to make a vegan version.  Mark’s version is on page 106.

Ingredients I Used

2 Tbsp EVOO

3 Russet potatoes, cut into 1/2 inch dice*

4 medium sized leeks, white and light green parts only, thinly sliced*

4 cups veggie stock (I had exactly this much left over, amazing!)

salt and pepper for seasoning

How I Made It

Mark advises heating up the oil, then dumping in all the vegetables at once.  This didn’t make sense to me.  I’m not a professional but I knew this would make the potatoes stick and the leeks would take much longer to cook.  So I put the leeks in first, sauteed them while stirring about 5 minutes and then added the potatoes just before adding the stock.  I cooked the whole deal, covered, at a simmer for half an hour.  It looked like this when it was done:

IMG_0769

I was expecting company for dinner that night so I turned off the flame and let the pot sit on the stove, until just before serving.  Once I knew my guest was about to arrive, I put about half of the soup in the blender, pureed and returned to the pot.  I turned the flame to the lowest setting on the burner to warm it back up but that’s about all I did.  Unfortunately, because this was for company, I didn’t get a chance to photograph the final product, but it was silky and creamy without any additions of dairy.  So, completely vegan!  We ate it with a simple garden salad that I dressed with Mark’s Vinaigrette dressing (p. 762-63: I used white wine vinegar) and drank delicious Brooklyn Brewery Local 1 Ale. If you had the non-vegetarian version of this soup, I’d say that the only difference is that it is a bit darker in color since my stock was so dark from the mushrooms and the soy sauce.  But other than that, I couldn’t tell the difference. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

